Great post of how the business of maple sugar gets done.

The View from Fish in a Barrel Pond

Water boils at 212°F, syrup at 219. My job this week was to achieve and maintain a constant 219 degrees in the sap pan, using a wood fire for heat. In searching these pages for photos of fire and me, I came across my post The Cremation of MMX and the photo below. I would like to reassure readers (especially Skye and Tina, whose sugar house I have not burned down) that the man in the foreground had no hair to begin with and was fine.

Quill Gordon Shows How It's Done

The fire in this post was of a completely different nature.

View original post 879 more words

Published by

Gin Clear

Fly fisher, fly tyer, and Boston sports fan. Also at gin-clear.blogspot.com and my favorite re-blogs at gin0clear.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

